As I was eating dinner at home last night, I began to reflect how graffiti can really differ according to where it is found. Especially if it is washroom graffiti, where there is a divide between the genders. I didn't really sneak into any other men's washrooms after the ones in Buchanan. I was too scared of running into a guy! Either way, I wonder how the topics would vary in these two locations?

I also began to appreciate how the writing instrument is crucial to making graffiti. Without it, one simply can't. In addition, the type of instrument also influences the visibility and the 'attractiveness' of the graffiti. It also affects the quality of the graffiti when captured in photograph form. Which also leads me to think that the camera used is an important instrument in my project. Without the camera, I will not be able to begin my 'digitalization' of graffiti! I am beginning to see how these types of tools are the "marginalized author"...

Now with all the pictures and videos that I have, I can't wait to begin and put my project together! I guess it's time to brush up on my HTML skills as well... mmm, another form of the marginalized
author...

--
anita



Leave a Reply.

    anita cheong

    Hi! I am currently an UBC English Literature student  enrolled in a Digital Literature class taught by Dr. Erika Paterson. This is an individual project in which I choose to explore how to bring the physical graffiti found in public washrooms into the digital sphere. This is simply a blog that keeps a record of my thought processes as I proceed to explore this new type of literature!

    Archives

    July 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed