I finally got it to work the way I want it to! I am really happy! After hours and hours of research and trying to look for the right code, I finally found one! (I see some collaborative authorship going on here...). Milonic has the perfect code that I need in order to fulfill my vision of what my washroom graffiti would look like on a digital space. Obviously, I had to spend hours trying to figure how it actually worked and really read into the coding of it. This made me think of how codes are really important. There is no doubt that codes are a type of marginalized author and how it is similar to a piece of literature. If Milonic wrote the code in a messy, confusing and illogical manner, I would not have been able to understand and figure out what exactly it is that I need to modify in order to do what I want to do with it. The code was written in a way that was easily understood and the spacing of the code also makes a big difference as to the 'readability' of it! I tried to mimic as much as I can with my modification of the code...but I'm not sure I did it much justice.

Regardless, I am finally done the coding after nearly 6 hours. I haven't done something like this for a while since I built my other website. I feel really accomplished and happy that I decided to take on this challenge and really push my limits with my coding skills!

Now to really put this individual project together...

--
anita
7/30/2010 09:23:43 am

Hi Anita, I am so impressed that you took the time to learn HTML - I think your efforts were well worth the time - your reading of washroom graffiti is much enriched as a result. Thank you... I am wondering if you are interested in setting this site up so that people could contribute? You could start a discussion form .... I love it!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    anita cheong

    Hi! I am currently an UBC English Literature student  enrolled in a Digital Literature class taught by Dr. Erika Paterson. This is an individual project in which I choose to explore how to bring the physical graffiti found in public washrooms into the digital sphere. This is simply a blog that keeps a record of my thought processes as I proceed to explore this new type of literature!

    Archives

    July 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed